U of T, I Wish I Knew How to Quit You

In 1847, the Provincial Normal School (above) was created because Upper Canadians realized that it was high time their teachers were formally trained. (Normal schools are what teachers colleges used to be called). Several name changes plus a full-on relocation and merger later, it’s now called the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto. It’s also where I’ll be earning a Master of Teaching over the next two years. Yup, I’m one of those crazy people who want to become a teacher in Ontario.

Unfortunately, due to the heavy course load, four practicums, and a major research project, after September 6th I will be switching to posting once every two weeks.

Aside from wanting to be a teacher for years, this blog is part of the reason why I finally said to hell with being practical and decided to go through with it. As much as I enjoy researching and writing about history, the most fulfilling thing about this blog is knowing that people actually learn stuff from it. (Shout out to all the Google Classrooms who come here, I see you!) Even if teaching doesn’t pan out I know that education is where I belong, so I’m looking forward to seeing where the next two years leads me!

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “U of T, I Wish I Knew How to Quit You

Leave a Reply

